In need of an listening ear?

As a young girl, I took much pleasure in browsing through all kinds of magazines: the photographs of fingernails painted in red even helped me to stop biting my nails. As a teenager (also later on,) I loved to read the columns of women who gave advice about any topic you can think of. Mostly women wrote to the author of such column – usually with a header like ‘Dear Mona’ – and asked questions about their relationship (or the lack of having one), about health issues, household tips and even now and then political issues were addressed.

When you asked me around the age of seven, what I wanted to be as an adult, I answered ‘a psychologist for children’. Children of my age, who needed a listening ear always seem to be attracted to me and even adults told me their problems, which years later I understood weren’t topics for a young girl to talk and worry about. As the eldest of children in a merged family I was often the listening ear for my (step) brothers and sister. Nowadays it still regularly occurs, talking to another person, even strangers: within five minutes people tell me their life-stories, or the recent issues they deal with.

During my life, I often needed a listening ear myself: my mother divorced twice, re-married for a third time and I had to deal with trying to get along with stepbrothers and -sister, moving from one place to another more than once, transferring schools, making new friends.
I divorced once myself, re-married and due to work, relocated even to another country. Finding my biological grandparents, dealing with losing them too soon. Unfortunately, I am no stranger to psychological and emotional abuse and even today, I sometimes are influenced by my past. Feeling lonely among all those lovely souls here on earth and constantly having to be aware of not getting depressed…

I did not become a psychologist for children. Instead, I studied Social Pedagogy in my twenties and guided children between two and seventeen for three years. In my thirties, I became an animal therapist and up to today, occasionally, I advise people with their dogs. In 2015 I followed an online study about Nutrition at a Dutch University and during the same year I attended an online workshop regarding the relationship between food and emotional health. Since I always have been interested in why people do what they do, I recently refreshed my knowledge and diploma in psychology.

I shared this all about me, with you dear reader, because I would like to fulfill one of my dreams.

Those columns I described at the beginning of this article, helped me through a lot of ordeals and on and off, I had (and still have) my personal ‘Mona’ to turn to. Blogging has been kind of a saver for me too: connecting with other beautiful souls lights up my heart every single chat.

Talking to a stranger is sometimes easier, sometimes you just need a listening ear.

So, as of today, you can connect with me: anonymously or using your real name.  Write to me via mimosa.pudica.connect @ gmail.com and I will answer your questions, just chat with you, give you advice (only if you want me too!) and be the listening ear, we all need sometimes.

I strongly believe in this…

…Stars glow bright,
spreading dust at night,
hope and faith start to grow,
therefore I feel, I know,
when souls do connect,
love can, no…will reflect,
the beauty inside us all,
and just one step, even small,
to reach out to each other,
will help our globe recover.

Looking forward to connect,

Patty ~ Mimosa Pudica
February 19, 2017

NB:
– I am a Dutch (The Netherlands) thinking soul, who lives in Germany and therefore my English will not be perfect.
– Should you chose to connect with me anonymously, I will never break your trust and reveal your real name.
– Since I live in Germany, I won’t always be able to respond immediately (time-difference), please keep that in mind.
– Should you connect with me in need of advice, I will honestly inform you, if I cannot help you and do my best to help you find alternatives.

26 thoughts on “In need of an listening ear?

  1. Oh Patty I wish I’d had your discipline on the finger nail front 🙂
    Your English is excellent and far better than a lot of my countrymen and women. 🙂 It’s always nice to know a supportive shoulder is close. Thank you for this wonderful post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi 🙂
      Thank you for taking the time to read an comment!
      That is a wonderful compliment, thanks! Losing track of time, that even happens me with email-communication too, haha. Fortunately I have a very understanding husband, who doesn’t mind wait a bit longer for his dinner 😉
      I will read the article later today, tomorrow at the latest!
      XxX

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful gesture, Patty, we all need a listening ear. There is a tool I learnt a while ago, it’s called a listening partnership. You sit with a partner and they talk. All you give is your presence and undivided attention. No attempts at fixing a problem or even responding. And its amazing how healing it can be. Feeling heard is one of the most important needs we have as a human.

    Liked by 1 person

Always open to thoughts, opinions, suggestions from my neighbors on this globe!

